Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dave Ramsey's Retail Catalog Stuff Christians Like by Jon Acuff

Blogger Jonathan Acuff brings his insightful take on Christianity. No stone is left unturned in this hilarious look at faith.
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
21 out of 24(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stuff Christians Like by Jon Acuff
Review 1 for Stuff Christians Like by Jon Acuff
Hilarious
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: KateM
Location:Ann Arbor, MI
Hilarious
Date:January 16, 2013
Had this book at a sleepover, we read it all night and laughed ourselves silly (and even cried for the most serious entries). We're a group of post-college ladies and love this book!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stuff Christians Like by Jon Acuff
Is bad art sinful?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Review by: Hero
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Is bad art sinful?
Date:November 2, 2012
God can use anything, be it a donkey or a Jon, a Keith Green, an Adrian Plass, or a Frankie Schaeffer to reach people with a particular message. A book or a bumper sticker, a fish or a FROG, a verse on your bathroom wall - each can be an inspiration or merely a decoration. Any Fashion-statement in any culture or sub-culture certainly can be trite and embarrassing when badly executed! But don't throw the baby out with the bathwater. Words are powerful. That's why Jon writes -and George and Ravi and Phil and Stormie - and thank God for publishers - their superfluous mediocrity aside - Jon would be self-publishing if it weren't for Zondervan's good bad & ugly 'stuff'! Let's try to raise the bar but watch our attitudes, eh? It's a short distance from humour to smug superiority.
1 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stuff Christians Like by Jon Acuff
Funny & Inspiring!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Shaerae
Location:Spring Hill, TN
Funny & Inspiring!
Date:October 31, 2012
Stuff Christians Like is exceptional! I was reading it on a plane and had to stop myself from laughing out loud several times! The book is inspiring and hilarious! I've already given a copy to a friend and encourage you to do the same!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stuff Christians Like by Jon Acuff
Very Funny!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: mcox
Location:Tulsa, OK
Very Funny!
Date:July 24, 2012
Great book! I had never been to Jon's website before, so this was all new for me. Not for the easily offended :)
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stuff Christians Like by Jon Acuff
Very enjoyable book.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: LoJe
Location:Arizona
Very enjoyable book.
Date:June 25, 2012
The book ranges from silly to profound, and everything in between. It pokes gentle fun at some of our foibles, makes us laugh at ourselves while teaching little lessons, and reminds us who we are and Whose we are.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stuff Christians Like by Jon Acuff
HILARIOUS!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Stewk2
Location:Arizona
HILARIOUS!
Date:May 13, 2012
Absolutely hilarious! We've sat around with the family on numerous occasions just reading Jon's essays aloud and rolling with laughter. This book will not dissapoint and is a great gift idea as well!
Review 7 for Stuff Christians Like by Jon Acuff
Brilliantly Funny and Eye opening
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: DavidHelms
Location:Chicago, Il
Brilliantly Funny and Eye opening
Date:September 20, 2011
I picked up this book on a whim and read through pretty sure the whole book in a couple of days. My friends have stolen it and passed it around. Everyone loved it! God created the sense of humor and has given us the ability to laugh at ourselves!
Review 8 for Stuff Christians Like by Jon Acuff
Amazing book!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Lanakila
Location:Virginia, VA
Amazing book!
Date:August 3, 2011
I ordered this on my Kindle, and I was laughing at almost every other sentence. I love how you approach every topic about God and it's light-hearted and funny but you also make some great points on the Papa. Only one thing... for your pictures, when you're talking about Christian businesses having the Jesus fish on their business cards, you had a little illustration that said "Andy's Aquarium" with a bunch of fish and a Jesus fish, and then there was an actual telephone number. I was bored so I actually called it, just to see if it was like a SCL hotline or an acutal aquarium store or something, but it was a house in Wyoming. And when someone actually answered I hung up because I was scared. Now they won't stop calling me... Anyways, funny book.:)
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stuff Christians Like by Jon Acuff
"Stuff Christians Like": A Review
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Sunay
Location:Brandon, FL
"Stuff Christians Like": A Review
Date:June 19, 2011
First off, let me start by saying that this book was one of those purchases that was worth it. When I was reading it, I had those "aha!" moments where I could relate to what was being said. It was great, and I look forward to reading many more of Jonathan Acuff's books. :)
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stuff Christians Like by Jon Acuff
funny to relate!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: dillon
Location:Oklahoma
funny to relate!
Date:April 3, 2011
very funny,you think your the only one who thinks like you untill you read jonathans book.Im a fan for life.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stuff Christians Like by Jon Acuff
LOVE IT.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: gabriellaheidi
Location:San Jose, CA
LOVE IT.
Date:March 22, 2011
Oh man, I love SCL. The blog is awesome and the book is awesome too! The Good Morning Flowchart is hilarious, the lions on trampolines (instead of a garden hedge of protection)... I loved it. And I love it. Jon is a fabulous writer!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stuff Christians Like by Jon Acuff
Funny and Very True to Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: FPUAndrew
Location:Cleveland, TX
Funny and Very True to Life
Date:March 17, 2011
This book will have you laughing and leave you shaking your head at the realization that most items are so true. It's a fun read and I plan on giving copies to Christian friends as gifts.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stuff Christians Like by Jon Acuff
Amazing!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Tante
Location:Houston, TX
Amazing!!!!!
Date:February 5, 2011
I started ready Jon's blog and thought I would enjoy this book. I only got a little way into it, put in down one night on the footstool. My husband picked it up that night and has not been able to put it down since. He is telling me that I need to read story or that one but he won't let me read it because he loves it so much. I love that what Jon writes is so much how us and others around us think and say about all of the subjects listed in the book. Well Done!!!!!
Review 14 for Stuff Christians Like by Jon Acuff
Love Stuff Christians Like
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: TonyR
Location:St. Paul, MN
Love Stuff Christians Like
Date:January 21, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Let me start by saying that my wife and I laughed out loud at nearly every essay. If laughter is the best medicine, this book could heal a marriage, a small group, a church, or at least break down some walls amongst us serious Christians and allow us to laughingly say, "we do that, HA!".
Sometimes Christians find the wonderful saving grace of Jesus they lose their sense of humor. Maybe this is in an effort to purify themselves from dirty or worldly humor that's pretty pervasive in media, or it's because we are indoctrinated into some humorless or at best satirically challenged churches, we lose our funny bone. We surgically remove our funny bone and stitch ourselves up with the "that's inappropriate" needle. (I probably went to far there).
The beauty of Christianity is that, if we are living it right, we have built in humility so it is wonderfully appropriate to poke fun at ourselves. This is the best comedy anyway, you don't feel bad about laughing at others. I wondered about a few of my "serious" Christian friends as I read this book and if they'd be offended or "hurt" that someone pointed out that they are living a stereotype. So I bought 10 copies and book marked their page. HA. I did buy 10 copies (Dave Ramsey's site had the best deal) but I didn't mark the page... they'll find it themselves and we can laugh together later.
My wife and I read about 5 essays before bed and I found myself sneaking peeks at free moments; I finished the book in a week.
Some books have found me at the perfect times in life, just like certain scriptures, and I hesitate to recommend them to others - who says they are experiencing the same thing as me. Stuff Christians Like is different - everyone needs a good laugh we could all take ourselves less seriously. John Acuff's really good at leading the way.
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stuff Christians Like by Jon Acuff
love his blog...book is even better
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: tnchickadee
Location:tn
love his blog...book is even better
Date:January 14, 2011
Makes a great gift! Love Jon acuff. Can't wait for his next book.
Review 16 for Stuff Christians Like by Jon Acuff
Well worth reading and sharing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: ChoiLatte
Location:Orange County, CA
Well worth reading and sharing
Date:December 28, 2010
Jon Acuff puts into light many Christian quirks and faults with honest humor. I was in no way offended by the many offenses I was guilty of in the book, but rather able to breathe a sigh of relief (and laughter) and the commonality amongst many Christians.
I am sending the book to our church's college pastor in hopes that it will also delight him and the audience that will listen to his sermons.
Highly recommended reading for anyone.
Contains short essays, so the reader does not have to be burdened with long reading sessions.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stuff Christians Like by Jon Acuff
Why
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: ccalvin57
Location:Austin Texas
Why
Date:November 28, 2010
You may ask yourself: "Why am I here, what does the future hold for me, who will I marry, will I ever amount to anything, or as my father told me, I'll never amount to anything" All these are great questions, and this book address none of them. It makes you forget all that boring stuff and concentrate on the important stuff, like why does our pastor always preach about the money stuff when I bring a visitor. Great stuff, like that. It is good to see a book finally talk about the important stuff.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stuff Christians Like by Jon Acuff
Great for Everyone, Perfect for Christians
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Desmond
Location:San Antonio
Great for Everyone, Perfect for Christians
Date:November 17, 2010
I had the pleasure of meeting Jon a few weeks ago, and he did not disappoint. He's just a normal dude that grew up around the church and he has a funny/twisted insight on the crazy things Christians do. I picked up the book at an event this weekend that he spoke at, what a treat. I had a lot of trouble putting it down once I started reading it. I laughed out loud numerous times.Now my wife has it and won't put it down. I know what everyone is getting from me for Christmas. Thanks Jon. I can't wait to get Gazelles!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stuff Christians Like by Jon Acuff
Hilarious - Great lighthearted read
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: iluvhume
Location:California
Hilarious - Great lighthearted read
Date:November 16, 2010
My daughter, age 21, was sitting with my husband and I outside by the fire reading to us from the blog, and purchased this book the next day. We have laughed so hard, but also realized we shouldn't take ourselves so serious and, yes, God does havea sense of humor.
Can't wait for "Stuff Old Christians Like", "Stuff Bald-headed Christians Like", "The Stuff Christians Like Desk Calendar" and the "Stuff Christians Like" Journal, Devotional and t-shirt.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stuff Christians Like by Jon Acuff
Fun and thought provoking
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Life Change: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review by: Crownlinks
Location:Columbus, IN
Fun and thought provoking
Date:October 30, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
A fun and thought provoking book that even the Grand kids will pick up.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>