Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dave Ramsey's Retail Catalog Quitter

It's time to close the gap between your day job and your dream job. It's time to be a Quitter.
Average Customer Rating:
4.602 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (103 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
1
97 out of 103(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Quitter
Review 41 for Quitter
Quitter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Bailee
Location:Astoria
Quitter
Date:April 30, 2012
A very good book. Practical and sensible and he his entertaining as well. He points out how to be watchful and smart in goals and how timing is very important.
Review 42 for Quitter
Invaluable
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: HillbillyBuilder
Location:Boone, NC
Invaluable
Date:April 30, 2012
I know "invaluable" is a big word for a Hillbilly, but it's the right word. Jon Acuff nails it in this book. Right out of the gate he gives some incredible insight into the working world and things that so many people deal with. This book reads incredibly well and I find myself laughing out loud many times. I am only half way through the book and it has given me so much food for thought, and practical points of application. This is a very encouraging book and makes the dream of a dream job seem a lot less like a dream and a lot more like a goal that can be worked towards and obtained, without jumping off a cliff to do it. I have already recommended this one to most of my friends and family, and I highly recommend it to anyone reading this review. A wiser man once told me, "If you can find just one idea that might help you, change you, or make your life better, it was worth it."
Review 43 for Quitter
eye opener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: afriksun
Location:san diego ca
eye opener
Date:April 29, 2012
Book came at the right time . I`m definitely underemployed, i.e working a job that is far beneath my skills and education and has really been itching to quit more so lately..This book is timelyas it gives me kind of a road map, from the time you birth the idea of quitting to the time you actually quit, and it does so with humor too. Its a highly recommended read.
Review 44 for Quitter
Thought provoking
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Murno
Location:Gilcrest, CO
Thought provoking
Date:April 29, 2012
Many good ideas we can apply to our soon to be retirement as well as other job changes. Makes one think before leaping!
Review 45 for Quitter
Quitter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: swissmiss
Location:Woodbury TN
Quitter
Date:April 20, 2012
This book gives so much insight into why NOT to quit until the time is right, and where you should be financially, emotionally, and personally, before you do quit.
It is an easy read, and yet gives so much valuable information.
Review 46 for Quitter
Make it a HABIT!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: LuckyLincoln
Location:Detroit, MI
Make it a HABIT!
Date:April 12, 2012
From desk to destiny! Read then re-read Quitter. Before you know it, you will be acting upon successful habits that create the character (you) who will achieve their dreams! This is the couch to 5K for desk dreamers! Pick it up today and your instantly closer to your dream!
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Quitter
You Have to Get This Book!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Tijer
Location:Sugar Land, TX
You Have to Get This Book!!!!!
Date:April 5, 2012
Oh my goodness I cannot say enough good things about this book!! It's a really easy read because Jon is funny and writes as if he's just talking to you face to face! The information in it is so informative! I think the biggest peice of advice that really stood out to me was, "Don't quit your day job". That REALLY helped me be content where I am but still super driven to finally get to move on to my dream job! Reading this book is like taking a huge bite out of your favorite dessert...it's just that good and it's content is soooo rich! I would reccomend it to ANYONE....and I have!!!! :)
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Quitter
I laughed myself into my dream job strategy!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Patti814
Location:Canfield, Ohio
I laughed myself into my dream job strategy!
Date:March 30, 2012
This book was exactly what I was looking for-a way to extract and define my dream and the practical way to get there. It also did wonders for my day job, and my lack of appreciation for what it gives my life. Sometimes we need a paradigm shift...Jon Acuff made it happen for me.
Review 49 for Quitter
Great advice for impulsive folks!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Leyla
Location:Cypress, TX
Great advice for impulsive folks!
Date:March 9, 2012
My husband is always talking about how much he hates his job. I bought the book for him because I thought it would help him come up with a practical "exit strategy". He loved the book, thought it was hilarious. The best part is that he has decided to stick it out for a couple of years, until he is elegible to retire and then start a second career with a safety net in place.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Quitter
A MUST READ for those who dream big...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: JPierson
Location:Visalia, CA
A MUST READ for those who dream big...
Date:February 16, 2012
It's too bad this book wasn't available back in 2000, before I spent so many years spinning my wheels at so many different jobs.
This is a MUST READ book for anyone that wants to live their dream... anyone that wants to go beyond the normal 8 to 5 and use their gifts to truly impact the world.
Intelligence is learning from your mistakes...
Wisdom is learning from other people's mistakes.
Here is the book to show you the pitfalls, guide you through the process, and get you living your dream.
Awesome and very timely for where our society is right now!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Quitter
Pay It Forward
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Lydia
Location:Memphis
Pay It Forward
Date:February 16, 2012
Im extremely happy with the purchase of my book. Not only am I able to enjoy it, I was also able to give the audio to a friend to help change their life. I wish more sites gave the deals you guys do to help better others and change their path.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Quitter
Quitter Haiku
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: grandifolia
Location:Rockford , MI
Quitter Haiku
Date:December 31, 2011
Couldn't sleep. Kept thinking about Jon's book. Wrote these two Haiku poems at 5 AM, while reading Quitter:
We search for our dream
Then, serendipitously,
It's given to us
A revelation
We recover an old truth
Our purpose revealed
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Quitter
Awesome Book! - Jon Acuff
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: deoniceo
Location:Dallas, TX
Awesome Book! - Jon Acuff
Date:December 16, 2011
Been listening to the show every day for the last 7 years.
Just finished this book about 30 minutes ago (on audible). Awesome book, great information, well written and I loved that it was read by the author - loved the extra stuff added to the recording.
Absolutely must read.
And by the way - Great choice in Jon, Dave! Hope to see more from him.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Quitter
Great book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: jhlem
Location:Humble, TX
Great book
Date:November 2, 2011
This book will help those you are looking to start their own business. Jon gives some really great advice to let you know that it's ok to start your own business while you're still working your real job. The first chapter lets you know it's ok to start working on your dream job without quitting your current money-making job. A must read for anyone wanting to get out and do what they love. You're going to want to read this a few times to digest all of the great information. And on the second time through, TAKE NOTES!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Quitter
Great book!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: AndrewA
Location:Plainfield, IL
Great book!
Date:October 18, 2011
This book gave me a different perspective on how I planned for my future. I recently started a small business and at the same time I'm still working at a full time job that I've been at for 7 years. I'm excited about my new business and it's progressing well for a start up. But at this point, my full time job pays my bills and supports my business at times. After reading the book, it made me realize that I need to stay at my full time job for now so that I can carefully grow my business into what I want it to be and not have to jump at every opportunity that might take me away from the goals I have in mind. When it's time to jump ship from my 40-hour job to just my business, I'll know it and do it on terms that are advantageous for me and my business.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Quitter
This book described me!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Reese
Location:Nashville, TN
This book described me!
Date:October 10, 2011
I thought that the book would tell you to quit today and pursue your dreams immediatelt; don't waste anymore time, get out there and take the bull by the horns (I am a Pisces, we are dreamers like that)! However, this turned out to be a completely different book that advises that you may have to stay in a job that is making you crazy, if only for a while, but explains very thoroughly why. You are trying to reach your dream, and nothing will destroy that more than running out into the world unprepared and jobless despite fantasies of ripping off your uniform and screaming "I quit suckas!" Maybe that is just my dream. Rent, food and bills are not concerned about your dreams so you will need to be level headed. Anyhow, he gives sound advice and points out what types of thinking will keep you stuck while engaging the reader with humor. It was what I needed to hear because I discovered I am kaleidoscopic apparently but it was good to know I wasn't alone. I now have a plan and can finally accept that all those things I was trying to use as reasons not to shake people silly at work are actually skills, traits and abilities that I can translate into so many other avenues. This is a book that shall remain in my library!
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Quitter
Can cool a rash decision
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: LlamaChopper1
Location:Dallas, TX
Can cool a rash decision
Date:October 9, 2011
Well done - Encouraged me to count to 10 before pulling the handles!
Review 58 for Quitter
Must Read
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Cross005
Location:Temple, TX
Must Read
Date:October 8, 2011
This book is a must read for those who feel stuck in a j.o.b. and want to discover what their dream is and how to reach it the right, common sense way! My husband and I both have gotten so much out of this book!!
Review 59 for Quitter
Just when I needed it most...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: HillKane
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Just when I needed it most...
Date:October 6, 2011
…Jon was a guest on Dave Ramsey's radio show. I was instantly drawn to the book's message and pre-ordered a copy. I have purchased several additional copies for friends and co-workers. When the book arrived, it sat on my desk at work [cover side down] for a while until I decided to take it with me to Australia on a business trip. NOW cover side up, that book "looked" at me at the airport, on the plane, in my apartment in Brisbane - READ ME!!
I finally carved out 1/2 a day off and set out through the botanical gardens and found a picnic bench on the shore of the Brisbane River. It was a beautiful day. I DEVOURED the book.
It saved me. Or rather, it inspired me to save myself. I am EVERY DAY moving forward and increasing my HUSTLE.
I even got a chance to chat with Jon Acuff at a live event!
He is the real deal. A genuine man, with passion and the heart of a teacher.
Even if you LOVE your day job... you should read this book.
THANK YOU Mr. Acuff, LAMPO Press and Dave Ramsey!
~Hillary Kane~
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Quitter
Great Advice
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: junkapreneur
Location:Kalamazoo, MI
Great Advice
Date:September 29, 2011
I have been frustrated with my corporate job and this book gave me some constructive ways to transition into my own business. Well written and pretty witty. I recommend this book.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>