Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dave Ramsey's Retail Catalog Quitter

It's time to close the gap between your day job and your dream job. It's time to be a Quitter.
Average Customer Rating:
4.602 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (103 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
1
97 out of 103(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Quitter
Review 1 for Quitter
Don't Quit...just yet
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: nmorrow
Location:Albany, NY
Don't Quit...just yet
Date:January 20, 2014
Have you ever finished a book and then found yourself doing the exact same thing? I just did. If you've started a part-time job in hopes that it blossoms into your dream job you will be able to relate, as I did. If you are still looking for your dream job you will also be able to relate to the genuine story of being sure that there is more out there. The author also offers helpful advice that could either help you find the job your dream job and how to not kill that dream before it becomes a reality. The book is balanced between personal experience and practical advice. It is well worth reading although I did not find it as inspiring and motivating Acuff's book "Start.'
Review 2 for Quitter
Just what you need
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Theodore
Location:Dallas, TX
Just what you need
Date:January 18, 2014
This book will speak directly to you. It's exactly what you need to hear
Review 3 for Quitter
God Uses Our Mistakes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review by: SarBear
Location:Huntley, IL
God Uses Our Mistakes
Date:December 31, 2013
This is a book that I've already read once and plan on rereading often. I've recommended it to friends and found the content to be biblical and encouraging. Who hasn't felt like you weren't quite where you were supposed to be at one time or another? Like you needed to reach that next perfect position or job? When you're good at what you do, the pressure from those around you to reach further, jump higher and move faster can be intense. This book gives you a refreshing breather from all that stress and reminds you that there is much to be learned in the trenches, by paying your dues, and that sometimes putting in the time on the lower rungs of the ladder will help you reach for the upper rungs when the time is right.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Quitter
Very Motivational
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: emberdragon
Location:Ligonier, PA
Very Motivational
Date:December 25, 2013
I originally got the audiobook to this, I love how motivating the book is and it teaches you to do it without putting yourself or your family at risk. This is a great way to get the family on board (I know most people seem to have this problem). I loved the book so much I bought the hard copy for my friends who have complained about their jobs, for myself as a resource, and for my family to help motivate them to push their lives in the right direction. It's a huge hit! I would defiantly recommend this book to anyone who want's to be something but is scared to do it. It's a very easy read and keeps you going from page to page!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Quitter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review by: KyleS
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:November 6, 2013
It was a good read. Helpful and inspiring! I unknowingly have been taking several of the steps mentioned in the book to further my career and pursue something I love! It was encouraging realizing I was on the right path!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Quitter
Really enjoyed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Wolfy
Location:Nebraska
Really enjoyed.
Date:August 30, 2013
Although quitting my job didn't really apply to me any more because I had already become self employed a few years before, I really wish I would have had this book before I did. Sound advice delivered with plenty of humor. (Anyone who knows the difference just over look the line about "a bull rider roping a calf", don't let that one part keep you from enjoying the rest of it.) Overall an entertaining book with plenty of advice and motivation. Recommend to several friends.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Quitter
Helpful Guidance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: gerbmeister
Location:Orem, UT
Helpful Guidance
Date:August 20, 2013
If you feel 'lost' in your current job, this book is for you! If you feel you should be doing more, this book is for you! Jon will assist you in mapping a plan to take you from "here to there". He helps you work harder in your current job while helping you focus better on your future and where you really want to be.
I purchased this book (and "Start") for my children, and decided to read them first. What a great decision that was!
This book isn't just about your job, but your life. Thanks Jon!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Quitter
Loaned out
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Mojo44
Location:Brea, CA
Loaned out
Date:July 7, 2013
I bought the book to loan to a relative and did not read it beforehand, thus no comment on the Life Change question above. Other than that, I love Dave Ramsey and the tremendous ministry he has. I have recommended his products and radio station to tons of people. (Took FPU 2 years ago, taught me good basics that I can use for the future to save money and give [had no debt to begin with besides my house]).
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Quitter
Don't Quite... just yet. Read this first!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review by: Franc
Location:Roseville, CA
Don't Quite... just yet. Read this first!
Date:July 3, 2013
I like when an author can totally expose himself to bring home the message. Jon does a great job at pointing out all the mistakes I made before quitting my high tech job and running at my dream job before anyone could stop me. "Quitter" is excellent and should be a must read, especially in this economy, by anyone heading out the door to what they dream will be a better life doing what they always wanted to do. It's a LOT of work and Jon makes no bones about it... the other title of the book might have been "Hustle". But that had other connotations that they felt were better left inside the book instead of on the cover.
I would also recommend "Quitter" and Jon's second book "Start" to anyone just getting into the job market. College grads, unemployed, second career candidates, etc. Both books are easy reads and, for me, worth more than a one time read! At least before I take another leap into the entrepreneurial pool of small business.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Quitter
Refreshing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: 4631
Location:Panama City Beach, FL
Refreshing
Date:June 30, 2013
This book has so much common sense and empowerment about the right way to change careers.
Review 11 for Quitter
Changed my way of thinking
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: patmandenver
Location:Superior, co
Changed my way of thinking
Date:June 10, 2013
Great book. I really want to get his new book after reading this one.
This book made me change the way I view my current job and the side contracts I currently work.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Quitter
My wife thinks I'm nuts!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: WoodLive
Location:Franklin Id
My wife thinks I'm nuts!
Date:June 8, 2013
I started laughing my head off at Johns first chapter describing changing in bathroom stalls, and continued to laugh through the whole read. Every time I'd crack up laughing, my wife would just look at me like I might be on something. John teaches in what is perhaps the most effective method of all. He warms the reader up with his humor and humanity, preparing them to receive real instruction openly and freely. By the end of the book I felt like we were good friends, and I could absolutely relate to his life struggles. It was an excellent read, and as soon as I finished it, I gave it to my brother to read. I can't wait to read START!
Review 13 for Quitter
I'll be reading this over and over again. Thanks!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Patientmom
Location:Casper, WY
I'll be reading this over and over again. Thanks!
Date:June 1, 2013
Inspirational and motivating. A good reminder to this 50 something to get back to what I already know.
Review 14 for Quitter
EVERYONE NEEDS THIS BOOK!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: GettingControl
Location:Northern Michigan
EVERYONE NEEDS THIS BOOK!!!
Date:May 31, 2013
This book is such a life changing, honest testament to what we are all thinking! If you want to get fired up about yourself and making it in life, even if you don't want to quit your job, read this book. I loved the way that Jon made you feel like he was sitting there chatting with you in your living room.
This is a MUST Read!
Review 15 for Quitter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: nhadsall
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:May 13, 2013
The book was entertaining, a quick read, and very insightful.
Review 16 for Quitter
Great book for everyone
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: johnston827
Location:Ames, IA
Great book for everyone
Date:May 4, 2013
This is a book that everyone will enjoy and have timeless principles that will work now matter how much time has passed into the future, it provides not only steps that can be followed but also instructions for questions to ask yourself so you don't make the mistake of ruining your dream while chasing it. He doesn't promise that it will be easy or instant but is practical in making the transition and yet provides plenty of humor to drive home the point. The part about NOT quitting your day job right away and instead using it to fund the creation of your dream job and to grow your dream job till your able to live off of your dream financially is only one of many great insights along with how instead of hating your day job you can find ways to like it and use it as practice for your dream. this is a book I read twice, it was that good and recommend to friends and family. Everyone should read this book!!!!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Quitter
An absolute MUST Read
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: smitchel
Location:Jackson, TN
An absolute MUST Read
Date:April 22, 2013
This is a phenomenal book that will change your life. You can choose to be cynical, bitter, or negative. But if you allow it, Quitter will help you on your journey towards your dream job...whatever that may be. This book is packed with wisdom that I'm so grateful Jon Acuff shared with us. God can use the message in Quitter to change you and your family's life for the better. Take a risk and read this book. You will grow from Acuff's insight. You will learn more about yourself. You will be able to start living out your dream.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Quitter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: hwriter
Date:January 24, 2013
This book was witty and practical. It helped me see that my dream job is within reach and that really I've already started the process to quitting. Thanks Jon Acuff and the Dave Ramsey team for the encouragement. I would recommend this book to anyone willing to work for a dream.
Review 19 for Quitter
Well Worth It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: nocalc
Location:Denver, CO
Well Worth It
Date:January 17, 2013
Great book for anyone who has a vague sense they need a change, or is already in the process of making changes. Including those folks who've already read at least one or a half dozen other "self-help" or motivational texts around a similar theme. It's inspirational, motivational, and grounding - for those times when you've got nothing but doubts going through your head. Plus it's an engaging, easy read.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Quitter
Great Advice for us Dreamers!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Littlepigtracks
Location:Waldport, OR
Great Advice for us Dreamers!
Date:January 14, 2013
Just like the author, I found myself being a serial quitter and about to quit again until I read this book. Now I know I'm not ready to quit and I'm trying to put Acuff's quitter wisdom into practice to make sure my dream doesn't die.
The book is insightful, funny and, at times, in your face honest. Jon Acuff doesn't glorify a "quitter lifestyle", instead he brings to the forefront the realities of being a dreamer who quits too soon.
Acuff's wisdom on waiting until the right moment to jump ship isn't just lip service - he's lived it. Jon brings the ups and downs of quitting into better perspective so the dreamer in everyone finds the dock on which to land instead of making a big splash in the water.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>