Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dave Ramsey's Retail Catalog QBQ - The Question Behind the Question

Dave says, "It's the best book on personal responsibility available today. This is required reading for my team." The QBQ is a tool that enables leaders - at all levels - to practice personal accountability by making better choices in the moment.
Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 out of 15(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for QBQ - The Question Behind the Question
Review 1 for QBQ - The Question Behind the Question
QBQ
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Beetlebomb
Location:Brazoria,TX
QBQ
Date:January 13, 2014
Love the way John Miller puts it on the line. Be responsible for me. I am learning to ask the right question head on.
Review 2 for QBQ - The Question Behind the Question
Great Book, Quick Read
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: SandyC
Location:Colorado Springs, Co
Great Book, Quick Read
Date:January 16, 2013
I really enjoyed reading QBQ! I don't consider myself a fast reader, and this book took me only about 1 1/2 hours to read. It is a good self-reflection book to see what you can do to make any situation better or improved. There are several good example stories to illustrate the author's point. I would recommend this book to anyone, because it can apply to everyone.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for QBQ - The Question Behind the Question
Practical and easy to read/understand
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: GBPackerGirl
Location:Northville, MI
Practical and easy to read/understand
Date:January 7, 2013
I agree with what Dave Ramsey has to say about QBQ: "It's the best book on personal responsibility available today."
This book isn't just for leaders - it's for anyone and everyone, no matter your age or background. It's time we all take responsibility for our actions, words, facial expressions, etc. We don't live in a perfect world and we never will, but reading this book and taking a good look at how I react to any situation will no doubt give me a better outlook. Thank you!!
Review 4 for QBQ - The Question Behind the Question
QBQ
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: debbie4011
Location:Big Lake, TX
QBQ
Date:September 25, 2011
My all time favorite book!! It has changed how I handle every situation in my life!! THANK YOU JOHN!!
Review 5 for QBQ - The Question Behind the Question
Great way to boost change
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: ChakaBH
Location:Hillsborough, NJ
Great way to boost change
Date:July 22, 2011
This book was very helpful for me. It helped most with reframing questions that would incite me to be resourceful. I listened to it again with my wife on a recent road trip and got even more out of it, as did she.
Review 6 for QBQ - The Question Behind the Question
"I would rather be told to wait... "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: dyanelib
Location:Houston,TX
"I would rather be told to wait... "
Date:March 4, 2011
Thank you Dave for recommending this book, it was definitely worth my time to read it, and I gained so much from it.
I have already started putting the QBQ into practice at work and can say that I notice the difference in my attitude and behavior.
My favorite line in the book was "It is better to be told to wait than to wait to be told' After almost 3 years in my current position, I have to admit I have turned from being a person who was told to wait into a person who waits to be told, and I have hated being this way but have figured 'that is what they want from me'. This book helped me realize that I am happy and more fulfilled when I take the bull by the horn (so to speak) and not wait around until my collegues get involved, which is usually not until its an emergency. No doubt this is a book I will come to again and again, and I will continue to apply in my work and personal life.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for QBQ - The Question Behind the Question
Excellent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: smiley22
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Excellent
Date:March 2, 2011
I loved this book. It was an easy read and was able to finish it in 2 days. I was constantly taking notes, jotting down quotes that I wanted to remember for later. I felt it directly applied to my current work situation and after I finshed it, I lent it to my boss to read.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for QBQ - The Question Behind the Question
An Indispensable Lifeskill Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Walter
Location:Indianapolis, IN
An Indispensable Lifeskill Tool
Date:February 9, 2011
Of all the self-help books I've read over the past 25 years, this is the only one which provides a single succint and universally applicable tool that you can use on the spot to turn problems, obstacles and hangups into immediate action steps for growth and success at the personal and organizational levels.
Review 9 for QBQ - The Question Behind the Question
A thought provoking book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Walker
Location:Huron, SD
A thought provoking book
Date:June 26, 2010
This was a terrific book on personal accountability. I didn't want to put it down once I started reading it! Time constrants forced me to finish the next weekend. Could hardly wait till that weekend. Upon finishing I loaned it to my college daughter. Two days later she text me she could hardly put it down either!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for QBQ - The Question Behind the Question
Key to personal accountability
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Page
Location:Enterprise, AL
Key to personal accountability
Date:April 2, 2010
This book is an excellent and practical how-to book. The steps to asking a QBQ are simple, yet can have a profound inmpact on you and your organization. It can significantly reduce the stresses associated with a changing business environment by redirecting the focus onto the individual instead of some external force that people have no control over. This book will allow you to focus on your problems in such a way that not only are the problems solved, but you can get a substantial amount of personal satisfaction by coming up with the solutions yourself. I would recommend this book for anyone that wants to improve their outlook on life.
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for QBQ - The Question Behind the Question
One Of My All Time Favorite Books
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: roofie
Location:Carrollton, Tx
One Of My All Time Favorite Books
Date:March 29, 2010
Who was it that said " we are a country of whiners"? Doesn't matter. He was right. What a country it would be if this was required reading for EVERYONE.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for QBQ - The Question Behind the Question
QBQ
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Life Change: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review by: Alltrans
Location:Greenville,SC
QBQ
Date:March 21, 2012
We read this as a group in my business and found it fun and helpful. We are an older crowd(over 50) and have all been through various training meetings, read books, etc., so it was not a "special revelation", but a great review of what we try to practice anyway. Very easy to read, stimulated great discussions, and gave us a shared vocabulary to describe various scenarios; very helpful, lots of fun, could especially be useful to someone who is clueless to this type of mindset thinking
Review 13 for QBQ - The Question Behind the Question
Great for Volunteers!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Life Change: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Beccalynn24
Location:Huntsville, AL
Great for Volunteers!
Date:February 29, 2012
I work within a volunteer organization - you can't fire people, because you don't pay them! This book is an excellent tool in helping to establish responsibility, retrain your mindset, and humbly encourage those around you!
Review 14 for QBQ - The Question Behind the Question
Well Intentioned
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Life Change: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Review by: skeeter325
Location:Smyrna, TN
Well Intentioned
Date:January 26, 2014
The overall theme of personal responsibility is something that is admirable and a sought after trait. I would say that there is a difference between taking responsibility for your actions/not pointing the finger at others and owning up to things that are out of your control completely. The book is worth reading, but take it with a grain of salt. The problem is that in many scenarios saying "What can I do to help" will end up stretching a person too thin and cause more harm than good.
Review 15 for QBQ - The Question Behind the Question
poor book
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Life Change: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Review by: BobbieJo
Location:Columbus, OH
poor book
Date:October 8, 2013
The question behind the question? Let's get real, this isn't about personal accountability, this is about shift the attention away from upper management being the real problem so that others can think they are the problem not upper management.
You see upper management know that many employees are not that happy in IT, so they bring in a book and hold discussions to address that.
Now what was the main theme of the book? Simply point the finger at yourself and not others.
This is a classic psychological approach because now people will start questioning their own actions hence shifting the attention away from those who are the real cause of the problem.(i.e., management).
Question behind the question ? - well, it might be good for something if you run out of toilet paper one day..
1 of 4 found this review helpful.