Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dave Ramsey's Retail Catalog The Total Money Makeover

Dave's teaching is condensed into 7 organized, easy-to-follow steps that will lead you out of debt and into a Total Money Makeover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,615 reviews)
5 stars
1,518
4 stars
88
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
0
1,609 out of 1,615(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Total Money Makeover
Review 1 for The Total Money Makeover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: philt
Location:Tennessee
Date:September 4, 2014
Amazing content that gave me practical steps to get my financial life in order!
Review 2 for The Total Money Makeover
A life necessity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: MaryKate
Location:Virginia
A life necessity
Date:July 25, 2014
Next to my Bible, this book is the most important, life changing one I've ever read. In fact it's the ONLY one sitting on my nightstand beside my Bible. I read some of it every night, even though I've read the whole thing several times. Keeping my nose in it, keeps me really motivated and focused. I'm astounded at how life changing it really is! My life will never go back to the way it was before with our family's finances. If you will let it, this book will forevermore alter you financially, and in such a good, healthy way, you won't WANT to return to your old way of handling money. Dave Ramsey is a genius....period. God bless him.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Total Money Makeover
Life Changing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Kelise
Location:Los Angeles
Life Changing
Date:July 3, 2014
I buy these books whever there is a big sale and I loan or give them away. I have also now started including it with wedding presents. If not for this plan I would lose so much sleep. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. My mother turned me on to this and my family and family tree will never be the same. Yea!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Total Money Makeover
The Total Money Makeover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: HawaiiRandy
Location:Waipahu, HI
The Total Money Makeover
Date:June 11, 2014
I previously read EntreLeadership and have been listening to Dave on the radio. Even though I have already heard the concepts, this book pulls it together.
I got the audio book and finished it in 1 day. This is the first book in years I finished off in one day. Once I started I was hooked. I can't wait for my wife to finish it. I am already recommending it to friends.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Total Money Makeover
LIFE CHANGING!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Don2
Location:Orange County, CA
LIFE CHANGING!!!!!!!!
Date:May 25, 2014
This is the best book you can get. Its not only about handling money God's way but also how to plan for the future. This book will give you a map how to get out of debt, how to save, spend and give. It will also teach you how to send kids to college and graduate debt free, how to retire with dignity, how to bargain, where to invest. In my opinion, its the best book ever. Thank you Dave Ramsey for changing my family tree. I know while Im working on my baby steps, kids are watching. This is really life changing. I became a different person, a better worker, better husband and better father.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Total Money Makeover
Ever feel like a book was written just for you?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: BethisDebtFree
Location:Houston
Ever feel like a book was written just for you?
Date:February 21, 2014
I started listening to the Dave Ramsey show a year before I FINALLY got my husband on board. By that time, I was pretty convinced that I had all the tools I needed to win... But when my husband asked "Have you even read his book?" My response was "I don't need to! I listen to his show!" But I was very wrong. This book is LIFE CHANGING. My husband downloaded the audio version and we would just sit back and listen to Dave read his book over and over again. There were so many times my husband and I would look at each other and go "Wow, he's talking about us." I truly feel that if I had not found Dave Ramsey, I would be so lost today. I cannot believe (as simple as his advice is) that I never saw it in the light that he presents it. His teachings have helped us realize all the mindless mistakes we were making in our lives. We're so happy to be in our mid 20's with the knowledge we now have with our finances and life direction. We're unstoppable.
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Total Money Makeover
One of the best gifts ever to give.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Osoold
Location:Magna, Utah
One of the best gifts ever to give.
Date:December 2, 2013
I have been telling my children about Dave Ramsey, for years. My daughter lost her job. They could not pay all their bills, so they moved in with her in-laws. So I gave her and her husband the Total Money Makeover for Christmas, 2012. They should be out of debt by April 2014, if everything continues as it has.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Total Money Makeover
Great book!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Pilotguy1987
Location:Brandon, Ms.
Great book!
Date:November 16, 2013
Great book. I'm not much of a reader but I couldn't put it down, my wife thought I had gone crazy! I look forward to more of Dave's books!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Total Money Makeover
Life changing book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: James007
Location:Miami Beach, Fl.
Life changing book
Date:November 14, 2013
I read this book in 2 days. Couldn't put it down, then followed what I read, and will be debt-free 01/14. Will have paid off 24,000 consisting of credit card and student loan debt. If you want to live like no one else, then read this book. I've given as Christmas gifts to friends and family who want a better life. But don't buy it, if you want to be like everybody else.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Total Money Makeover
Life Changer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: TomK
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Life Changer
Date:October 1, 2013
This is a great book. Todays society tries to make us believe debt is not only OK, but a good way to go about our financial lives. This is wrong. Dave's book spells out why that is and the steps needed to become debt-free and in control of your financial life. I will be giving this book as Xmas presents to many people.
Thanks Dave for helping and spreading the Truth.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Total Money Makeover
Reaping the benefits almost immediately
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: AutomotiveMD
Location:Drumore pa
Reaping the benefits almost immediately
Date:October 1, 2013
I got the book for a co worker.. After reading it he started on an emergency fund right away... After a couple months it was done... Two days later his truck needed a 600 fuel pump repair... He called to thank me for helping him get on a plan.. He said" the $600 didn't affect me at all.. It was now a minor inconvenience rather than a crisis." It just reinforced the importance of learning to manage money the right way.. He's now all in..
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Total Money Makeover
Changing our family for the better
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: RachelUP
Location:Blue Springs, MO
Changing our family for the better
Date:September 28, 2013
I am almost done reading the book and already we are in Baby Step 2. Having implemented the ideas gives us hope that we can take control of our money and tell it where to go. For the first time, we have a budget and I almost look forward to plugging our bills into it so I can see what we have left over and how we can use it to pay down debts. No longer do I feel guilty when I spend money because I know that each dollar is intentionally allocated. The relationship between my husband and I is getting stronger by the day as we take on our Total Money Makeover together!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Total Money Makeover
Life changing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Gifted
Location:Wasilla, Alaska
Life changing
Date:September 28, 2013
I am with so many other people that wish they would have heard about Dave earlier than I did. I feel blessed that I got so tired of other radio stations that I finally tuned into Dave and was hooked. It took me three months to convince my wife to read TMM and try the program. She was so stressed each month doing bills and she doesn't worry about money anymore. We paid off 47K in 13 months and only have our mortgage left. We are having our first child in six weeks, and we feel we are in a much better position to have a family than we ever were before. My wife will be able to stay at home, we could never have afforded to do that before. I have to admit that I am excited for her to go back to work so we can blow through our mortgage, but I will wait and enjoy our family. Thanks so much Dave. You are the best! Ramsey for President!
Chuck
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Total Money Makeover
This book changed my way of life! Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Zach22
Location:Pennsburg PA
This book changed my way of life! Amazing!
Date:September 26, 2013
Dave thank you so much for changing the way I handle and think about money. I have been searching for help in my financial world and this has brought me to where I want to go! Financial freedom has to be one of the greatest feelings in the world. And yes that is up there with getting married and seeing my children born. I am so blessed to have a friend introduce me to this book and can't wait to share this with others!
Thank you Dave!
Review 15 for The Total Money Makeover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: motoboy
Location:clarkston, wa
Date:September 24, 2013
Best advice ever. I've bought this book for myself several times but I keep giving them away cause I want to help people the way it helped me!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Total Money Makeover
Paying it forward!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Rejoicefulmom
Location:Tolleson, AZ
Paying it forward!!
Date:September 22, 2013
My husband and I have been following your plan for many years. We were given your FPU class as a gift back in 2006. We learned when so much and both agreed that we would pay it forward whenever we were able. So when we meet people that are struggling with finances we offer our testimony and ask if they are interested and if so we offer them a book and offer them our support as they start the TMMO.
In Christ,
Rejoicefulmom
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Total Money Makeover
Peace of Mind
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Rayme
Location:Port Orchard, WA
Peace of Mind
Date:September 21, 2013
After my wife and I read the book we put it to use.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Total Money Makeover
I want to save someone's life and marriage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: 2decadesofdisaster
Location:Richmond, IN
I want to save someone's life and marriage
Date:September 20, 2013
I read your book 5 years ago but could never get my husband on board. I understood it completely immediately. His constant unemployment and inability to look in the mirror caused us to file bankruptcy 3 years ago. It has been an eventful 19 years of marriage full of loans and "one day when the kids are gone we'll have money again" ideas. I've been married to a stubborn person who believes debt is just normal and to take no responsibility for messes.
I'm ready to change our family tree. Thanks so much for teaching in a way that fires me up and is simple. It's not hard but it's difficult, I think you say.
Your radio show is really what's saved my life. As if money wasn't enough of a problem in our marriage, my husband had an addiction that rared it's ugly head about 1 1/2 years ago. It caused even more money problems. He refused to live by the principles of your book. I decided I could see no end in sight and started saving money to file for divorce.
I participated in a lot of regular daily prayer time. I got counseling. I took care of my job, kids, and home. Those were the words of our deacon. At that time I was mad at him for giving me only that advice. As I was taking care of what he told me to take care of, and of course lots and lots of prayer, things started to transform. He has started to transform. I decided that the divorce money would be our emergency fund. It was 1000.00 in no time. Then I started on the debt. We don't have a lot, but we have no savings for replacement cars, retirement, etc.
I started listening to your show daily. I saved up money for FPU DVDs because my husband would never go. I decided I would rather watch at home than show up to the class alone. At the right time and place I asked him to watch it with me. He agreed. The first session I was constantly watching him to see if he was asleep, etc. He didn't seem too excited. I was disappointed and worried.
He asked if we could watch the 2nd DVD together a few days ago. I'm starting to see a transformation even more so this week. I'm of course the nerd and he is the free-spirit. I have to remember not to talk too much about it because it will scare him off. Now he's agreed to look at the budget. That's a step in the right direction. We have paid off 3 debts this year (when I was basically working this myself). Yes, even after bankruptcy we didn't learn :( .
A friend of mine's niece got married a few weeks ago. This is the first opportunity I've had to give this wonderful gift. I wrote a nice couple of paragraphs in the book explaining how I wish I had this information when I was 19 and got married. Would I have listened? I don't know. Would my husband have gotten on board? I don't know. But I'm hopeful for the next generation.
I work for my parents in their business. We have about 100 self-employed sub contractors, who believe it or not, are for the most part horrible with money. They are constantly asking us for advances, they always have these emergencies with money, etc. I'm working on getting my parents on board to get them all TMM books as a gift for Christmas or our driver appreciation dinner. We'll see how it turns out.
Thanks so much for your ministry!
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Total Money Makeover
Total Money Make Over
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Olympia5296
Location:Olympia, Wa
Total Money Make Over
Date:September 14, 2013
The Total Money Make Over is a book worth reading all the way through, and then reviewing it and following step by step. The first month we decided to save our $1,000 emergency fund we had emergencies totaling $1,000 but we paid cash and didn't charge anything. We were actually encouraged because we had the cash for the emergencies because we had made a quality decision to save the money. We went on to save the $1,000 the next month. We are now paying off our credit card bills, and we are excited to be debt free! Thank you Dave Ramsey for sharing such a powerful empowering honest concept that really works.
We will be calling in to do our debt free scream soon.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Total Money Makeover
Order and victory in our lives
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: DDeb
Location:Harrisonville, MO
Order and victory in our lives
Date:September 8, 2013
I've been in AA a long time and I'm debt-free. The Dave Ramsey message is starting to resonate in our group and I'm happy to give the books to people who crave order in their lives.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 81 next>>