Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dave Ramsey's Retail Catalog Starter Envelope System

The Starter Envelope System has all the tools that you need to begin Dave's proven, easy-to-use cash-management system. Try out this simple way to manage your household income and expenses and avoid spending more than you earn!
Average Customer Rating:
4.623 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (329 reviews)
5 stars
235
4 stars
74
3 stars
13
2 stars
4
1 star
3
321 out of 329(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Starter Envelope System
Review 61 for Starter Envelope System
Awesome Investment to begin your journey!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Rubypill
Location:Louisiana
Awesome Investment to begin your journey!
Date:May 6, 2013
This was the best tool I have found to teach me discipline and keep me on the right track. Very simple system and the register on the outside is so convenient to always know how much money you have in each category. This system has put me back in control of my money.
Review 62 for Starter Envelope System
Change your life for $12
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: kayc
Location:Lake Jackson, TXChange your life for $12
Change your life for $12
Date:May 5, 2013
so practical. Everyone tells you what you shouldnt be doing, but Dave tells you what to do. The psychology of money is generally overlooked. It takes the whole package to make changes, behavior and education.
Review 63 for Starter Envelope System
Love it!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Kwlwaw
Location:Donnellson,IL
Love it!!!
Date:May 4, 2013
This has tremendously helped me to ONLY use cash & be more conscious of the money I spend. The only thing that I would change about the product is I would have all of the envelops bound & maybe a few more of them. Other than that I think this is amazing & has helped my family & I by leaps & bounds!! Thanks Dave for all you do for the people of America!! You provide a great service!!
Review 64 for Starter Envelope System
Purchased For A Young Person
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: karen1982
Location:Belle, MO
Purchased For A Young Person
Date:January 28, 2013
My husband works at a juvenile detention center and we purchased this for one of the boys he had been working with. The youth was going home and had really taken an interest in your program. We believe this is an important tool and can help him to stay focused. It may help him to change his family tree. We may never hear about the impact it makes on his life, but we want this to be a reminder to him to keep pressing on. Thank you for doing what you do!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Starter Envelope System
Love Me Some Financial Peace!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: MarshaB
Location:Dallas, TX
Love Me Some Financial Peace!!!
Date:January 23, 2013
Love these producst!!!! Complete Life Changers!!!!
Review 66 for Starter Envelope System
Lost but now they're found
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Supermom2
Location:Leland, NC
Lost but now they're found
Date:January 21, 2013
I started using envelopes in the 1980's when my mom taught me about budgeting. I wore my set out. I used packing tape to mend them until they were simple shredded envelopes. Now going back to common sense budgeting (only been 20+ years) the envelopes are a tremendous help! I am finding that I spend less on food and gas than I thought! I cook healthy meals with lots of fresh veggies and it is affordable! Thanks Dave for getting my family back on track and the tools to help us!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Starter Envelope System
Great Product
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: jazzygran
Location:San Antonio, TX
Great Product
Date:January 21, 2013
I purchased the envelope system for our grandchildren. Frankly, they surprised me. They have been enthusiastic and are working into it. We have some college grads that have had problems getting full time work as well as others in college. We even have a newly wed couple. In fact, it has been so successful that I think I'm going to have to order some more.
Review 68 for Starter Envelope System
Envelopes are awesome!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: sandmark55
Location:Santa Clarita, CA
Envelopes are awesome!
Date:January 20, 2013
My wife and I have been using the envelope system for some time now and find it to be an excellent way to maintain control of our spending. This set is going to my adult daughter who requested our help in budgeting her money. This old school system works so well I have no problem heartily recommending it to anyone interested in getting control of their spending.
Review 69 for Starter Envelope System
GREAT PRODUCTS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Jillsg
Location:Shelbyville TN
GREAT PRODUCTS
Date:January 14, 2013
Can't wait until our class Financial Peace University coming up at church so I can begin this new journey. The products are awesome!
Review 70 for Starter Envelope System
Envelopes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Dmagic
Location:Colorado springs
Envelopes
Date:January 12, 2013
I love them wish they were just a little stronger. I use them for everything from saving money for trips and the usual food gas personal etc. using cash and not the debit cards is harder getting use to but it sure stops the "nonthinking" emotional spending...
Review 71 for Starter Envelope System
Envelope system
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: bubbadad
Location:florida
Envelope system
Date:January 12, 2013
Although relatively simple, Dave's envelope system has really helped us get a GREAT handle on our weekly expenses. Every category gets $ fed in each month and if there's $ available, we can spend it - if not, we need to wait (or spend less!). So far (almost a year), we have been able to put away several thousand $s - in the past, it all would have been "frittered away"!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Starter Envelope System
A must have.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Lorimark
Location:Keene, NH
A must have.
Date:January 11, 2013
The starter envelope system is a great way to stay organized with your finances. Staying organized on David Ramsey's plan, gives you such an incredible sense of peace. We no longer argue about finances and we are focused on the end result of becoming debt free.
Review 73 for Starter Envelope System
Changed my Christmas Shopping
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: hbla
Location:McDonough, GA
Changed my Christmas Shopping
Date:January 4, 2013
I bought this envelope starter system a few weeks before Christmas. On the day I decided to do my Christmas shopping, I went to the bank, took out a certain amount of cash and put in my envelope. When the cash ran out I stopped shopping. As a result of my limit, I made much wiser choices in the gifts I chose and I stuck to my budget. This was the first time I've used an envelope system, and I think I'm hooked now!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Starter Envelope System
Starter Envelope System
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Kailuagirl
Location:Hawaii
Starter Envelope System
Date:January 4, 2013
The first month we used this system we saved $1,000. We are pretty excited to continue to use this system so that we can have the financial freedom to know how much we spend, and make sound decisions on what we spend our money on.
At the same time we are saving our money! We have only started doing a small part of David Ramsey's program and I am excited to incorporate more of his program.
Review 75 for Starter Envelope System
Greatest gift for the Grandkids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: NanaAnn
Location:Birmingham, AL.
Greatest gift for the Grandkids
Date:January 3, 2013
I bought these for my adult Grandkids (ages20-21) just to get them started with their financial goals. they were so excited to get them. One of my Grandsons had been keeping track of his money on slips of paper and was really excited about having the system. Thanks for making these so affordable. I have had mine for a year now and when I ordered my refill I got one of these since you all were out.
Review 76 for Starter Envelope System
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Bflann
Location:Milwaukee, WI
Date:January 3, 2013
Makes it much easier to sort our budget money and helps us keep from having "to much month at the end of the money". Thanks Dave
Review 77 for Starter Envelope System
Help me save money!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Racharles
Location:Charleston, SC
Help me save money!
Date:January 2, 2013
I will try anything to limit my spending. I am looking forward to being debt free. I recommend anything from Dave Ramsey. He always meets my expectations!
Review 78 for Starter Envelope System
Helpful Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: gonelookin
Location:Navarre Oh
Helpful Tool
Date:January 2, 2013
We have found this product very helpful to use cash only. if there is no money in envelop then we cant affford or buy it.
Review 79 for Starter Envelope System
Totally the best purchase ever!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: Tman
Location:Eugene, OR
Totally the best purchase ever!
Date:January 2, 2013
Before I had this envelope system I used to just swipe my credit card for everything. Now that I am cash only I know with this system exactly how much I have to spend. I personally only use this for food, gas, entertainment and clothes. What's nice is its not bulky to carry around and can easily slide in your back pocket and it looks good too, not like some plastic envelope case you would find at a dollar store. Thanks Dave, for making a great product.
Review 80 for Starter Envelope System
Get control of our budget with cash!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Change: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend to a friend: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by: dconing
Location:Harrison, MI
Get control of our budget with cash!
Date:January 2, 2013
Now that my husband is finally accepting Dave's "zero based budget", the use of the starter envelope system makes it easier to "use cash" and keep in control. Each time I pull the system out of my purse, I have received comments, so OF COURSE I tell them about Dave, the radio show, and Financial Peace!
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 17 next>>